MONICA LAROCHE

°1982

BIOGRAPHY

EXPO

 

Monica, still young but a real studio artist since the start, loves reading magazines for girls.  She incorporates the texts in her ‘writing art’.  This is the term she uses for her work based on her own handwritten texts.

 

The texts describe Monica’s ups and downs: what she enjoys, and what she doesn’t, what she likes to eat and what she detests, or what she really wants to buy next time she goes into town. She puts down her modest dreams and wishes, her interests and sometimes also her frustrations , in full sentences, on paper. In the process, she writes to herself. Her favorite words are ‘dream’, ‘future image’ and ‘candy’

Word puzzle books and magazines such as Joepie, Girlz and Gossip play an important role in her work. She uses dictionaries and magazines to fuel her work. The word puzzle books present her with words she doesn’t understand but that she finds intriguing.  The interviews and articles in the girl magazines make Monica feel all fuzzy inside and are copied in their entirety.

She depicts her favorite subjects in her drawings. We often see people in love.  Monica asks herself whether people accept this theme.  While writing and drawing, she explores how far she can go with nudity in her work.

 

Monica enjoys drawing pictures in magazines onto tracing paper. She fills the sheets of tracing paper until a fun haphazard composition appears.  These drawings also become an inspiration for her work.

Monica’s texts consist of different layers, in different colors.  This way, her autobiography isn’t fully legible and she remains a bit of a mystery.

  • Special Art Festival (Sint-Niklaas - 2015)

  • Wordart at Galerij Walden (Antwerpen - 2019)

  • [OGEN]BLIK at CC Mechelen (Mechelen - 2019) 

  • Expo Jan Hoethuis i.c.w. Rift (Geel - 2019)

  • Grafixx Festival (Antwerpen - 2019)

  • Rideau at E² Sterput (Brussel - 2020)

MONICA LAROCHE

°1982

BIOGRAPHIE

EXPO

 

Monica, encore jeune mais véritable artiste de studio depuis le début, adore lire les magazines pour filles. Elle utilise les textes pour traiter dans son écriture . C'est le nom qu'elle donne à ses œuvres basées sur des textes auto-écrits.

 

Les paroles traitent des hauts et des bas de Monica: ce qu'elle aime et ce qu'elle n'aime pas, ce qu'elle aime et ce qu'elle n'aime pas du tout ou ce qu'elle aimerait vraiment acheter lors de sa prochaine visite en ville. Elle écrit ses rêves et souhaits modestes, ses intérêts et parfois ses frustrations en phrases complètes sur papier. C'est ainsi que Monica s'écrit progressivement.

 

Les dictionnaires de puzzle et les magazines tels que Joepie , Girlz et Gossip constituent également un ajout important à son travail. Elle utilise les dictionnaires et les magazines pour alimenter son travail. Les interviews et les articles des magazines féminins font chaud à Monica et sont intégralement retranscrits.

 

Les paroles de Monica se composent toujours de différentes couches de couleurs différentes. Du coup, son autobiographie n'est pas totalement lisible pour nous et l'artiste reste un petit mystère.

 

Dans ses dessins, elle représente ses sujets préférés. Ici, on voit souvent des gens amoureux. Monica se demande curieusement si les gens acceptent ce thème. Tout en dessinant et en écrivant, elle explore les limites de la nudité dans son travail visuel.

 

 

  • Festival d'art spécial (Sint-Niklaas - 2015)

  • Word art à la Walden Gallery (Anvers - 2019)

  • [YEUX] REGARDER à CC Mechelen (Malines - 2019)

  • Expo Jan Hoethuis en collaboration avec Rift (Geel - 2019)

  • Festival Grafixx (Anvers - 2019)

  • Rideau in E² Sterput (Bruxelles - 2020)